Professor Francis Abayomi Durosinmi-Etti, OFR

Professor Francis Abayomi Durosinmi-Etti is one of the most prominent cancer specialists in Africa and currently serves as the President of Cancer Education and Advocacy Foundation of Nigeria (CEAFON).

He is an alumnus of the University Of Lagos College Of Medicine where he obtained his MB.BS degree, Christie Hospital and Radium Holt Institute, University of Manchester, England, where he obtained his postgraduate qualifications in Radiation Therapy and Oncology (Specialist in Cancer Treatment).

In 1988, Francis was appointed as a Radiotherapy (Cancer) Specialist by the United Nations, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna, Austria. He was responsible for the worldwide activities of the IAEA in Cancer Radiotherapy, a position he held for 7 years during which period he was largely instrumental to the development of the specialty in 45 developing countries of the world spanning Africa, Asia and Pacific, Eastern Europe and Latin America among several others. He has several Academic publications to his credit in peer reviewed local and International journals. He was also involved in the design and development of the AMRA brachytherapy machine in France and the CERVIFIX machine in Italy. These machines are used worldwide, including LUTH, ABUTH and National Hospital Abuja, for the treatment of cancer of the cervix in women. He also played key roles in the establishment of Radiotherapy Departments in many teaching hospitals in Nigeria.

Francis is widely respected for his superlative administrative skills and performance in various leadership positions he held, namely – the Pioneer Chief Medical Director and Chief Executive Officer of the prestigious National Hospital, Abuja, Secretary to the Federal Character Commission for 8 years, Chairman National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced persons and later as the Chairman of the Board of Federal Medical Centre, Ebute-Metta, Lagos.

He is a Fellow and Member of several local and International Professional Associations and a recipient of several local and International awards including the highly prestigious Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic. (OFR)